Op-amp overdrive too loud

Started by chrisjuby, April 15, 2016, 09:03:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

chrisjuby

I'm a fairly new builder. I read the following article and built a version of the example circuit at the end using a TL071.

http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/how-to-build-it/technical-help/articles/design-distortion/

It sounds great, but the output is so high that I have to keep the level pot barely above 0 for roughly same volume as on bypass, and if I switch to the hard clipping diodes it's even louder still. I'm keen to box it up, but I'd rather have the level range a bit more sensible before I do. Any advice on what I should do?

(I've noticed that a lot of commercial circuits have output buffers but this one doesn't. Is that the issue?)

Here's the example circuit:

GibsonGM

Do you know what the "taper" of your output pot is?  If you use a 100K AUDIO TAPER pot, the 'change' in apparent level should happen more smoothly.

This has to do with how the human ear responds to sounds, in a logarithmic fashion...so we tend to use audio (log) taper pots for volume controls...

http://www.geofex.com/article_folders/potsecrets/potscret.htm
  • SUPPORTER
MXR Dist +, TS9/808, Easyvibe, Big Muff Pi, Blues Breaker, Guv'nor.  MOSFace, MOS Boost,  BJT boosts - LPB-2, buffers, Phuncgnosis, FF, Orange Sunshine & others, Bazz Fuss, Tonemender, Little Gem, Orange Squeezer, Ruby Tuby, filters, octaves, trems...

Groovenut

You could try putting a 10k-100k series resistor between C5 and R7. That will bring the total output level down by making a voltage divider with the output level pot. I would put it just before the level pot to avoid changing the way the tone control behaves. This will also alter the frequency corner for the RC filter created by C5 and R7, allowing more bass frequencies through. So you may need to adjust the value of C5 as well.
You've got to love obsolete technology.....

Frank_NH