BJT Design Question

Started by chickenyoyo6, April 18, 2016, 06:56:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chickenyoyo6

Howdy. I'm an electrical engineering student currently taking an analog class. For my final design project I'm designing a stomp box. My plan is to create a multistage bjt amplfier, with a common collector for the input so I have a high input impedance, and a common emitter for the gain. I was wondering if anyone knows what impedance I should expect for the load. More importantly, what amount of gain should I be designing the amplifier for? I really have no idea what voltage I can have going into my amp. I was told to expect an output from the guitar of 1v?
Any help is appreciated, thanks!

PRR

Welcome!

> I was told to expect an output from the guitar of 1v?

The stage amplifier only needs 20mV to make full output.

A HARD-strummed guitar can touch 1V peak, though 200mV is more reasonable.

So we need 20mV, we have over 200mV...... WHY do you need a booster in between?

(That's a seriously deep question you won't answer this semester.)

Guitar interface can be approximated as 50K source 500K load. A wide-open guitar may be under 10K most of the audio band. Many g-amps are 1Meg (||100pFd) input. For consistency you should observe the usual 10X mis-match. But heavy loading is the "sound" of some pedals.

Also note 30pFd per foot of cable. A 30-foot cord can be a LOT of load at the top of the audio band, even the guitar band (compute it).

> what amount of gain

If you don't know, why are you already planning a multi-stage design? (OK, if that is the assignment, the boss is always right and for now the prof/TA is the boss.) I won't detail your homework, but you should be able to show that if "Gain required between 50K source and 500K load is 2", then a single high-hFE device can do the job.