DIY Double-sided Board

Started by nickbungus, April 21, 2016, 11:26:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nickbungus

Hi guys

I've been building my own pedals for a little over a year now and for being a total novice I've had a lot of success (a few fails too!).

Anyway, for one of my own layouts that I was never happy with, especially the size of the board, I've created a new layout.  This time with 2 sides of copper trace. 

I'm now going to etch my layout on some double sided copper clad board.  I've read a few articles and watched a few Youtube videos on how to do it.

Really, all I wanted was a bit of advice or any tips and hints/ potential pitfalls etc. for producing the board as well as soldering.

Thanks
To the extreme, I rock a mic like a vandal.
Light up a stage and wax a chump like a candle.

J0K3RX

Make sure the holes line up...  :icon_lol:
Doesn't matter what you did to get it... If it sounds good, then it is good!

KazooMan

Yep, lining up the holes is critical.  For the only two sided board I ever etched I ironed on the toner transfer on one side and drilled a couple of holes and then used those holes to align the second transfer.  You do need to be careful not to damage the first side while you are making the second transfer. 

nickbungus

Yes,  that's the method in going for, lining up drilled holes.  Some maverick on YouTube just cut the board to size and then ironed.

It also occurred to me that I would have to solder everything both sides.  Obvs, but I just hadn't given it enought thought
To the extreme, I rock a mic like a vandal.
Light up a stage and wax a chump like a candle.

karbomusic