News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

Hi. I'm new.

Started by whoisalhedges, May 01, 2016, 07:30:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

whoisalhedges

And I'm sure the Lounge is a more appropriate place for an introductory post, but I'm equally sure this forum gets more views, and I certainly hope to get to know some of you brilliant people better.

I'm fairly new to the DIY game. It started when I got laid off - all of a sudden I couldn't pay other people to fix my gear anymore, had to pick up the iron myself. Then things got worse, ended up selling my gear.

Last Xmas, a buddy gave me a guitar and amp. Good friend! Anyway, I still didn't have any FX. So, I began reading over at GEO and AMZ, a few other places, diystompboxes.com... I learned as much as I could before I started building.

Now that I'm back working, most of my free income is going to my new obsession hobby. I breadboard like mad, I've tackled most of the common drive circuits (I'm still a raw newbie at modulation - I'd love a delay and a tremolo, but I have a real hard time building what I don't understand) and have built three of my own designs: a 2-transistor Big Muff (Muff Fuzz topology with the BMP feedback network on the second transistor, and a bridged-T filter to evoke the classic Muff scoop), a JFET+BJT overdrive voiced like early '70s Stones and Faces records, and an insane ring modulator that feeds the guitar signal into the diode bride, modulating itself - depending upon how hard one hits the strings (and the resulting harmonic content of the signal), it'll hop up or down an octave or two, oscillate madly, and occasionally be playable just by twiddling the volume and tone knobs on the guitar. The overdrive is the most boring, but it might be my favorite (it's also the newest, which certainly helps in the favoritism department).

Anyway, nice to meet you all; and it's my pleasure to see so many names I've come to recognize in my research. I'm looking forward to having some fun here.