Wah output buffers

Started by thermionix, May 10, 2016, 02:19:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

thermionix

I'm considering putting an output buffer on my Clyde circuit wah.  I really don't want to change the way the wah sounds at all, but being able to use it with fuzz would be nice.  If I do add a buffer, it would only be on when the wah is engaged, otherwise true bypassed.  I could also use a second (internal) DPDT to selectively bypass the buffer, but switches can be kind of large.

Naturally I've checked out the Axis Wah article at Fuzz Central.  Easy enough, but there are lots of other buffer circuits that could be used, and I have no experience with any of them.  Simplicity and low parts count are good, I'd rather not have to set up a bias voltage, but transparency would be the top consideration.

So, what do you folks recommend?  Have you tried the Axis Wah setup?  Got something better?

Thanks for your input.

Mich P

Foxrox is the best i have tried.
Mich P.

Elijah-Baley

I have to build the Foxrox, too. :)
Can I ask if I can keep a IC buffer on as first in the pedal chain with the foxrox?
«There is something even higher than the justice which you have been filled with. There is a human impulse known as mercy, a human act known as forgiveness.»
Elijah Baley in Isaac Asimov's The Cave Of Steel

thermionix

I've heard good things about the Foxrox, I'll be looking into it.  Thanks.

induction

Any decent buffer will do fine if you put a resistor inline with the output. The foxrox, for example, is a pretty basic op-amp buffer with a 22k resistor tacked onto the end.

Quote from: Elijah-Baley on May 10, 2016, 05:28:45 AM
Can I ask if I can keep a IC buffer on as first in the pedal chain with the foxrox?

A buffer before the wah certainly won't interfere with the foxrox, if that's what you're asking.