Veroboard or perfboard

Started by Meehah, May 21, 2016, 07:22:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Meehah

I am making a small lm386 amplifier to take on a holiday and was wondering if laying it out on Veroboard or perfboard would be more effective. The layout I am going to follow is the Little Gem. My past experience is that Veroboard can be incredibly tedious. Keep in mind that I am not very experienced with soldering or DIY electronics. Does anyone have any ideas?

jimilee

More effective is your decision. I can't use perf but I can make vero work.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Jdansti

If I have a Vero layout already done for me, I'll use it before I would do perf. I can do Vero pretty quickly, but that may be because I've done it a lot. Perf takes a little more thinking for me than using a Vero layout.

Edit: In the end, it's a personal decision based on your skills.
  • SUPPORTER
R.G. Keene: EXPECT there to be errors, and defeat them...

Mark Hammer

If one has any plans to mod a circuit, vero can be a problem.  I prefer perf because I can put things any way I want, and easily add parts or change the layout.

I also tend to build a lot of things that people post here or are posted around.  If I find I don't like it as much as I thought I would, I can reclaim the perfboard.  I've tried reclaiming vero, but it tends to be limited.

287m

my history, started with vero, just because my uncle have a lot of big vero and teach me how to build with vero
and vero is rare in here, so become special if use vero
unfortunately, after stock vero is zero, is too long to get vero via online shopping
in that time, with just knowledge on vero
just build in perf with vero style (bend the leg, no need for cutting hole)

THEN, after view 'the clean' Rick Holt frequencycentral build on perf
i jealous! decided to move on to perf, almost always
and perf is easy convert to pcb layout, vice versa
THEN, view Sijosae, the mini masochist guru on headphone amp