Is my pedal FUBAR? Debugging Report Posted

Started by brokenbones, May 25, 2016, 05:29:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

brokenbones

1.What does it do, not do, and sound like? - The pedal is non-functioning. I believe it was input with a different polarity adapter causing the permanent outage. Since i'm kind of new at this i'd like to know if this thing can be fixed.

Is it strange for all the voltages to read so close to one another??!

My electrolytic caps all measure the same voltages for + and -. I assume this means they're fried?

***Also, I tried the audio probe method but to no avail. I'd start on the input section and Q1 and C1 both were dead. I even tried swapping out them out for new components and even a new R1 but nothing worked. Once I got no signal from R2,R3, and R4 something weird happened to my Macbook headphone jack. I was running audio out into the pedal from an online signal generator. That was the sign I needed to stop and decided to post my findings on here. Like I said, i'm fairly new to this game. I've got a couple pedal builds under my belt and now i'm trying to tackle my "stack" of old, broken pedals. I'm sure this pedal is dunzo but i'd like to learn and know for sure what could have happened and MAYBE if it can be fixed.

2.Name of the circuit = Boss DS-1, stock, late 90's
3.Source of the circuit (URL of schematic or project) = http://www.diystompboxes.com/DIYFiles/up/Build_Your_Own_DS-1_Distortion.pdf
4.Any modifications to the circuit? N
5.Any parts substitutions? Possibly D1. I think I swapped out a new 1N4004 a few years back.
6.Positive ground to negative ground conversion? N
7.out of circuit battery voltage? => 9.6V