Tube screamer advice needed - never used one

Started by blackieNYC, May 26, 2016, 10:36:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

blackieNYC

Really.  I don't know any thing about them. I'm going to be building a pedal with/for a young person who's never built anything.  Please read this and tell me if this makes you think of a particular TS circuit:

I've been playing guitar for 2 years and I'm just getting into the pedal effects world. Currently, own a Fulltone OCD and Digitech Obscura Altered Delay. I'm still trying to figure out how to use these well.
The "band" plays tons of 90's rock and while I enjoy alternative, hard rock and heavy metal, in 5-10 years, I hope to be playing the blues. The blues is why I started playing guitar.
A flexible pedal sounds good. Though, I'm not a huge fan of the fuzz sound, I feel like a fuzz pedal will be super useful in the long run. I would be interested in making a tube-screamer-ish distortion pedal. Equalizer, compressor and wah pedal are all on the list a little down the road.

I've corresponded with them a bit. Flexibility, fuzz, and a dizzying amount of sound clip links have been my contribution thus far. A tube screamer sounds good- being the other method of diode clipping than the OCD (diodes to ground likeMXR D+)  Thing is, I don't think I can assume there's a nice tube amp involved - does this mean I should build a TS that stands well on its own without relying on it to drive a tube?
Whaddya think? Clipping diode selector switch, input cap selectors switch? Sure, if you like, but what "core" design to build upon?
  • SUPPORTER
http://29hourmusicpeople.bandcamp.com/
Tapflo filter, Gator, Magnus Modulus +,Meathead, 4049er,Great Destroyer,Scrambler+, para EQ, Azabache, two-loop mix/blend, Slow Gear, Phase Royal, Escobedo PWM, Uglyface, Jawari,Corruptor,Tri-Vibe,Battery Warmers

thermionix