Taming a 3 Knob Tonebender

Started by TEPR, May 29, 2016, 10:15:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TEPR

Hi guys-
Just created this account, so this is my first post.

I am back to fiddling with circuits a little bit after 15+ years hiatus from all things guitar-related. I'm a total novice, but 16-18 years ago I built a 3 knob Tonebender with 3 x NTE158 germaniums. I forget whose schematic I used, but it does have the diode in there. Geo? AmZ? These sites vaguely ring old bells in my mind.

The perf board and wiring work looks like total garbage (bet I didn't even measure or bias the transistors), but the pedal sounds amazing. In fact, a player, songwriter, producer friend of mine used it on a recent record.

However, since part of this thing's magic is its warmth and musicality, I am wondering what I can do to reduce the gain.
I feel like it could also be pleasant at lower fuzz settings (a la Colorsound Overdriver's range), but as it stands now, the Fuzz knob goes from Very Fuzzy to Extremely F'ing Fuzzy.

I have done some searching on various forums, but have come up empty.

I want to mod it so it can go lighter on the fuzz, but have the highest fuzz/gain settings be about where they are now. Not looking to swap out transistors really, or otherwise mess with the tone, since everything is so right about it as-is.  I'm hoping it could be something simple like a larger value pot and a few resistor tweaks.

Any tips, links, previous threads appreciated!

Thanks
-T

robthequiet

If the pedal has mojo, the gain is part of it's personality, so I would approach with caution.

You could start with putting a graphic equalizer in front of it and use its output level to control the TB input signal, and be able to tailor the tone with the graphic to back off the fuzzier frequencies but still dial in some oomph, so you still use the guitar at full output without invoking too much chaos.