Where to start? guidance for necessary reads and starter tasks

Started by g0Dy91, June 01, 2016, 02:46:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

g0Dy91

Hi everyone,

Joined this forum today, has been following it for a month as a guest. I'm sure that this kind of queries have already been asked a zillion times but even after surfing through the forum I am finding myself lost in the sea of information. So I'm asking this again and hope the knowledgeable elders wont mind for this...

I am an Electronics graduate, i.e. I have the formal theoretical knowledge of electronic components but my hands on real time circuit building experiences are nil.
I also play guitar which actually drew my interest into building stomp boxes. Best way to combine profession and hobby. I m really eager about this but I need some guidance regarding how to start, what basic things i need (beginner tools n kits), what books should i read for hands on practical knowledge?

I have read basic electronics course books such as Boylestead, Millman Halkias and Sedra n Smith in my undergraduate study and currently reading Electronics for Guitarists by Denton Dailey for a more focused approach to electronics in musical instruments.

Also need guidance about setting up the workstation, what multi meters and power supplies to buy etc.
Looking forward to advices.

Thanks

Blitz Krieg

Where to start?

Do you live near a store that sells transistors?  Buy some of those.

They probably also sell resistors and capacitors and op amps.  get some of those.

Almost there.  get some potentiometers, a battery snap and some jacks.  ooh, wire.  get some wire.

switches are good too.

You WILL buy some stuff that you will never use, but that is part of the learning experience.  Way easier to know what you're getting if it is in your hand versus guessing in the catalog.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rv5iQ_aenX8

balkanizeyou