Balancing impedance of piezo electric pickup with magnetic in box

Started by simit, June 06, 2016, 02:12:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

simit

Hi.

First post so I will introduce myself!

I'm an electrician and understand about electricity and making good connections etc... I'm also a sound engineer and understand about signal processing. I would like to combine these skills into something I can use for my other interest, playing guitar! I have a first project in mind but, coming into this as a beginner I don't know where to start.

I'm looking to combine the output of a magnetic pickup with a piezo into one signal which I can then process further or bung into one DI box to go through the desk. With large impedance mismatches (magnetic humbucker is about 12K and the piezo around 1M) I guess I need some active circuitry to do this.

So my specification is this:

The circuitry is going in a stomp box (or just box without the 'stomp!) rather than on the guitar. This is a vintage guitar and modifications to the instrument should be reversible. My plan is to run the magnetic output down the tip of a 3P 1/4" jack, piezo output down the ring and a combined ground on the sleeve. This will then go direct into my 'pickup combining box'.

The piezo is being mounted internally to pickup the soundboard sound. The magnetic pickup is in the bridge position and should fill in the trebles that won't be heard through the piezo.

Other than that, my plan is open! And I have NO IDEA where to start in terms of a circuit...

I would like to retain clarity as much as possible but with the ability to attenuate each signal for balance by a pot per pickup. Ultimately I will want to EQ this signal. I wonder if being able to EQ each channel independently is beneficial? I am thinking that an instrument level output and a DI level output (~600Ohm) would be ideal but I'm open to suggestions why one would be better than another?

Does something already exist? Am I crazy trying to build this?