Push-Pull Amplifier vs Push-Me Pull-You Octave

Started by thehallofshields, June 11, 2016, 03:20:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

thehallofshields

I get the basic idea of Push-Pull amplifiers and crossover distortion, but I don't understand it how the Escobedo Push-Me Pull-You does its rectification.

Is it working as a phase-splitter, and transistor is acting a diode? Does it amplify? How is the base biased?
Can anyone lend me a helping... brain.. so that I can better understand this?

whoisalhedges

I'm no expert, (and PLEASE correct me if I'm wrong!) but:

Don't get hung up on the name. It's from Doctor Doolittle, it has nothing to do with P-P amplification.
Q2 and Q3 are biased at the voltage at Q1's collector, plus the voltage coming off the power rail via the 10k and 500k resistors to their bases.
The rectification comes via negative feedback - it comes off the collector of Q2 to its base via the 500k; and from the emitter to base on Q3... those two signals are 180 degrees from each other. Smoosh them together (technical term) at the junction of both emitters, and blammo! You have a doubled frequency.

The pros can probably explain it better, but if you're really waiting with bated breath to hear something, hopefully this helps a little.

anotherjim

I think it's full wave rectifier style frequency doubling.

At the zero crossing, Q2 & Q3 are both partly on via the 500k resistors, but the output from the lower 10k will be near ground.

As the input from Q1 rises, Q2 turns on more while Q3 turns off. Output V rises via Q1 and follows the positive signal half cycle.

As signal falls below the zero crossing, going negative, Q3 turns on more while Q2 starts to turn off. This has the same effect as it did for the positive, the output V rises, but for the negative going half cycle.

Both Q2 & 3 are isolated from Q1 by capacitors, so Q1 only provides pre-amplification.

PRR

> basic idea of Push-Pull
> Escobedo Pushme Pullyou