120v circuit 220v adaptation

Started by helix, June 12, 2016, 10:50:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

helix

Hey everyone! I'm building a very simple tube overdrive, power supply section of the schematic can be seen above. I will be dealing with 220v instead of 120v, and my question is:

to get 210v B+ what kind of values would I need to change as far as components are concerned (apart from the transformers)? like in the rectifier portion, and the other components in the power supply section? It'd be great if I could get a 120v transformer for the second one, but I can't just buy one, I will have to get it custom wound.

sorry for the nooby question but I'm still learning

thanks!

AdamM

I assume you're talking about the second transformer, which steps the voltage back up?

Something like this would get close: http://uk.farnell.com/pro-power/ctfc12-12/transformer-12va-2-x-12v/dp/1780844 - you would connect the two 115V windings in parallel for the secondary, and the two 12V windings in parallel for the primary.

But the circuit is using a voltage doubler (the two 1N4007's and 10u caps). If you use a transformer with a single ~220V winding, and replace the doubler with a straightforward rectifier + smoothing capacitor it would work fine. For the transformer linked above, you'd connect the 115V windings in series, giving ~230V - close enough for rock & roll.

helix

Well, my mains voltage is 220v, hence available transformers are all 220volts. I could order a 120v one but it'd cost me. I do have two 12v-220v transformers at my disposal and I'd like to work with them.

So as far as I can understand: (I'm still learning so bear with me)
the diodes and the capacitors are the voltage doubler portion.
the secondary of the second transformer gets doubled to get B+.
since my transformer will already have a 220v sec. I will just need a rectifier and a smoothing cap.