How to mod in a stutter effect

Started by PubliusValerius, June 18, 2016, 06:55:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PubliusValerius

Hey guys, I'm completely new to this, but do have some experience with basic electronics, soldering, etc. I'm fascinated with the possibility of modding and building my own pedals.

What I want, is a true stutter effect, that simulates switching a pickup on and off at controlled rates. Similar to a tremolo without the volume swell, and that clips completely in to completely out. I have several old stompboxes I could potentially mod if you think that's a good idea. One is a DOD chorus pedal that would be cool with the stutter. Or if there's another route to go, let me know.

The only pedal on the market I know of with exactly the effect I'm after is the mooer mod factory switched to stutter. Is there any info you guys could share? What component would simulate this effect? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Jdansti

It seems that a tremolo that cuts the signal on and off with a square wave would do it. I've made one with a 555 timer and it is very choppy.  The problem with the 555 is that it's difficult to get rid of the ticking sound that this chip produces. Any LFO that gives you a square wave, in conjunction with a vactrol (LED/LDR pair), should do it. It would be nice to have control of the amount of time the signal stays in and how long it stays off for each cycle.
  • SUPPORTER
R.G. Keene: EXPECT there to be errors, and defeat them...

smallbearelec

My Tremulous Bear

http://diy.smallbearelec.com/Projects/TremBear/TremBear.html

will do this (and much more), though it's not a beginner-level build. If you pursue the idea, the article covers the tweaks I included (some learned from the residents here) to control the inherent ticking of the chip.

PubliusValerius