First post - broken Boss SD-1 - damaged power connections? how to debug?

Started by overtone85, June 24, 2016, 04:14:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

overtone85

Hi

This is my first experience repairing a pedal. i can solder and I built/modded my own plexi amp, bu I have no experience with these circuits and debugging.

A friend gave me his broken Boss SD-1 for free because it is dead. He lent it to a friend who broke the DC socket and repaired it with super glue. :(

I think the pedal is made in Taiwan but I don't know how to verify this. there's no label on the bottom plate so I guess it's not MIJ.
The DC plug has a label saying that it needs a PSA adapter.

The first thing I tried was installing a 9v battery, plug a jack in the input, and see if the LED lights up. Dead.
So I opened it, the badly repaired DC plug came apart cracked and I could see that there are 3 wires coming from the contacts inside the socket.

Now, I don't know if his friend resoldered these wires. I will post pictures very soon, but for now I can tell you what I see.
The blue wire is connected to the DC tip.
The red wire coming from the battery goes to the sleeve thingy of the DC plug.
The other red wire goes to another contact inside the DC plug.

I don't have the pedal here but if remember correctly, blue wire goes to terminal 6 on the board, Red wire not-from-battery goes to terminal 13 on the board. The wires didn't break off the board so if I am wrong then it's the other way around, blue 13 and red 6.

The DC socket was already hacked, and I don't know if the sleeve contact from the battery is supposed to short on the tip (blue wire) when the DC plug is not inserted.
I also do not know if this sleeve contact is supposed to short on the other red wire contact when the DC jack is inserted.

But I remembered that these pedals disable the battery somehow when the AC adapter. So I connected the red wire from battery to the blue wire. pushed the switch and the LED did not light up.