SOLVED: my EH Screaming Bird wiring problem

Started by throw2k, July 02, 2016, 10:09:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

throw2k

EDIT: the issue was solved, scroll down for an updated wiring diagram.

I got a Screaming Bird from a friend around 1991, and I don't think it ever worked. I remember taking out the OFF/BOOST switch and disconnecting all of the connections, because I believed it was broken (probably wasn't).

Anyway, so I've been working on rebuilding it. I am a novice at this kind of repair, but am eager to learn.

I'm using this schematic:

as it has the closest measured values could find to my Screaming Bird. I did use my DMM to check the resistor values against the diagram, and they are in spec.

So I drew a diagram that shows how I think it's supposed to be wired:

Can someone check my diagram for me?

One thing that throws me conceptually is how the +9V is tied to what I would this is usually ground (jack sleeve, pot case, etc.). From the picture of other LPB-1 and Screaming Bird (below), you can see how the battery + is wired to the pot case.

I also wonder if I got pin 2 of the pot wired to the correct spot. I can't make out the connections from the pictures, but I may have done it wrong. Now I'm thinking that the .002u cap connecting to the 2N5088 base should go to switch pin #4, and pot pin 2 should go to the tip output.

I've been staring at it this diagram long that I'm starting to hallucinate :icon_eek:  :o

I tried comparing my wiring to some other photos of Screaming Birds wirings that I found, but they aren't clear enough to see all the connections.

I did connect it to my 9V power, and tried it out; I get signal when the switch is set to OFF, but no sound at any pot position when set to BOOST.

Thanks in advance for your help!

throw2k

Never mind, I solved it. Yes, as I suspected pin 2 of pot, like the schematic, should go to the tip at output. Also, the .002u cap connects from DPDT switch pin 4 to the base.