Blending Two Transistors

Started by NoCoffeeForKitty, July 05, 2016, 08:27:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

NoCoffeeForKitty

My posting this means that I am on the verge of giving up and accepting that it is simply impossible, but I'm wondering if anybody here has any ideas on how to blend between two different transistors or even if it would accomplish what I'm hoping it would.

I'm new to pedal building (most likely obviously), and there's a two different transistors that I really like how they sound in this build, but they are radically different sounds. I'm hoping that it's possible to blend between them to reach all of the sounds in between. I know I can build a switch to go between them, but a blend knob would be far more useful.

I've considered the possibility of simply using three separate pots to control each part individually, but that seems like it would be bulky and ugly on top, and it would be a pain to keep all three knobs in the exact same position.

Is this even a possibility, or should I just give up now and go with the switch?

induction

Would you consider telling us what circuit and which transistors you're talking about? A link to a schematic wouldn't go amiss, either. It's hard to address your question otherwise. We'd just be guessing.

NoCoffeeForKitty

It's a modified Devi ever soda meiser circuit. I'm looking to change the third MPSA18 in the stock circuit between that and a 2N5088. I'm not sure if I'm allowed to post a link to the actual schematic. If so, I can post a link to that too.

Thanks.

duck_arse

please post circuit, yes.

you can build the front end, up to the offending transistor, then build that stage twice (a different transistor in each, obvs.). blend the two outputs with a pot.

also, as induction says, welcome to the forum.
don't make me draw another line.

NoCoffeeForKitty

http://tagboardeffects.blogspot.com/2010/12/effector-13-devi-soda-meiser.html?m=1

This is what I've been going off of.