My first pedal build. A buffer/boost/pan stereo pedal.

Started by BlueGrot, July 12, 2016, 08:18:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BlueGrot

Hi! I've never built a pedal before but I have rudimentary skills in electronics and I do a decent job of soldering stuff. I've ordered a lot of the components and will be prototyping it with a vero board in the coming weeks. Here's the schematic of a mono line which I've made by just plotting in a op amp circuit I found with an LPB-1 clone, so it's not my own construction. Does it make sense? The plan is to make two of these circuits and send them to a stereo pan knob.

As the pedal will be used to drive two amps it would be great to integrate some sort of ground lift and phase invert. Eventually an expression control circuit for volume/pan would be sweet as well.

Edit: R4 has the wrong value. It's supposed to be 390R.

PRR

Welcome.

The LPB is just a gain stage. Ambitious for one transistor; but here you have 39 transistors (in U1) and you sure-as-heck can get a gain equal to the LPB just with the opamp.

Also easily adjustable: I'm sure the LPB's gain will be excessive (uncontrolled clipping) for some hot sources.

Your U1 bias network feeds half the crap on the power supply direct to the input (somewhat diverted by the source). With battery this may be fine. Plug-in supplies may have negligible or gross 50/60/100/120Hz crap plus whatever leaks from other things they power. A Vref divider and decoupler is usually a wise plan.
  • SUPPORTER

BlueGrot

You are totally right, I'll simplify things and make a circuit using the U1. Thanks for the advice on the vref divider and decoupler, I'll keep that in mind when doing similar things.

antonis

150pF caps are too low values for 100k base resistor & volume pot..
(they create a high-pass filter at 10kHz cut-off frequency..)

IMHO, you should raise their value to 100nF and, maybe, C2 up to 1μF in case of severe loading the output..