Help with amp footswitch

Started by skullsplitter, August 05, 2016, 10:03:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

skullsplitter

Totally noob here.

I built an amp footswitch and I wired it like this:

I tested it in a 30W Marshall solid state combo, it pops a little but it works. Before I try it in a 100w tube amp I wanna know if there is something I could do to improve it or any error I should be aware.

Thanks for any feedback!

P. S. I used a 3pdt because that's what I had available.

PRR

Welcome.

There's dozens of ways amp foot-switches work, depending on the amp.

That may work on the amp you tried it on.

On Old Fender, it would kill Reverb but the LED would never light. It might kill Trem, but there were at least two Ways Fender did this, and one my *not* like the LED+R in there.
  • SUPPORTER

thermionix

I agree with Paul of course, footswitches are only part of a circuit and how they work depends on the rest of the circuit.

Your diagram is essentially a SPST switch, which just makes or breaks a single connection.  Did the LED light up on the little Marshall you tried?  I don't see how it could.  The LED would need a voltage to light it up, and when you short that out it would probably be very bad for the circuit supplying that voltage.

What kind of 100W amp did you want to try it with?  Can you share a schematic?

PRR

> The LED would need a voltage to light it up, and when you short that out it would probably be very bad for the circuit supplying that voltage.

LEDs are useful, fun, profitable.

A number of recent-decades amps run some voltage through a resistor to the switch jack. When switch is closed, LED is off. When switch is open, LED is on. Back at the amp, the change of voltage 0V or 2V can be sensed and do something.

Do what? That's up to the designer.