DS-1 Keely Mod

Started by PedalSouldier, August 10, 2016, 08:23:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PedalSouldier

Hi. I am new to modding and building pedals and am looking forward to using this forum to help me learn how to improve my skills.

Here is my problem. I bought a used DS-1 stock and it sounded ok. I likes the sound of the Keely mod so I bought the kit and modded it according to the directions that came with the mod. After I put it back together the SEM works and the pedal works but I have to turn up the distortion pot all the way to get the crunch sound, the pedal is no better than a boost pedal when at 12 o'clock. Well when I was looking at it I realized in a moment of horror that my bench power supply I was using to power the pedal was set to 18v!.. this might not be the culprit. the pedal still works just not as it should.. if anybody could point me in the right direction that would be nice.
I'm learning..

GibsonGM

Welcome to the forum!  Love to help....We'd need some more info first, Pedal.

What exactly were the mods you did (post a link to a page showing them...and a schematic, please).   What is your background in electronics?

Can you see if any electrolytic caps on the PCB are rated for <18V?  That is one place to start. 

All things being equal, if the pedal is different now than before, either the mod does this or you messed up something while doing it    ;) 

We'll need voltages of each pin of the opamp with 9V applied to the ckt, also.  Not sure which OA it is, but some don't like 18V...
  • SUPPORTER
MXR Dist +, TS9/808, Easyvibe, Big Muff Pi, Blues Breaker, Guv'nor.  MOSFace, MOS Boost,  BJT boosts - LPB-2, buffers, Phuncgnosis, FF, Orange Sunshine & others, Bazz Fuss, Tonemender, Little Gem, Orange Squeezer, Ruby Tuby, filters, octaves, trems...

PedalSouldier