This used to be a light overdrive circuit.

Started by Buildtestrepeat, August 14, 2016, 12:35:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Buildtestrepeat

I clearly have little idea of what I'm doing.  However, this thing makes a bigger noise than I was expecting and I think you fine folk can help refine it and make it something useful or possibly tell me to drop it and move on.  This is my first time manipulating a circuit on a breadboard.  It started out as a Kaustic machines Kaiser overdrive to which I tacked on a screaming bird circuit for no other reason than because I could.  I put the complimentary darlington pair in instead of a single transistor because I wanted to see how they went together.  It works a whole lot better with humbuckers than it does with my mid 80's active emg singles.  I don't have any normal singles to try it with.  I'm still not sure posting this is a good idea but here goes..........

P.S.  I called it Scooter boost overdrive in honour of my last boss who is a very skilled guitarist.

Gus

I like the first stage pair I posted a "lead boost" using that type of pair at this forum
You might want to think about the first stage.
The 470K feedback bias lowers the input resistance.
Have you tried it after a buffered effect? Does it oscillate?
What are the collector voltages at both transistors?

What are you trying to build? That will help adjust the circuit.

Two gain stages in series is a good circuit to learn from a few have been posted at this forum over the years.
You can change coupling cap values, change the bias of the transistors, change resistor values adjusting loading and gain

Buildtestrepeat

Cheers Gus,  I'll take a look around the site and have another play on the breadboard.  Ultimately I'd like a smooth controllable overdrive that cleans up well.