MXR Blue Box replica, tracking?

Started by gbkd80, August 16, 2016, 02:00:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gbkd80

I know historically the Blue Box has always had a weird tracking thing going on.  i just built a clone/replica of the script version with 2 single op amps, and functionally, it works.  Sounds mostly like i remember when I owned one back in the day.  My question is basically how bad the tracking really was?  I want to make sure none of my parts are bad.  it seems fine at higher registers but mid-to-lower notes tend to bleep and bloop all over the place at random.  I'm pretty sure I recall this being the "charm" of the BB but can someone confirm for me that this is normal?

Elijah-Baley

Hello.
I'm studying this effect, indeed I opened this topic: http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=114812.0 (could be useful to you).

If yours it's a "vintage" replica I think you don't have a resistor 470-330R between 9+ and pin 14 of the IC. I still don't know the real effects of this resistor, but someone without it had called it "glitchy".

Another thing I can say is about the pots. Using a 100k pots you gets «slightly less flip-flop trigger noise», it refers more than else about the blend control, I guess.

What transistors are you using? What is the value of the pots? The schematics I found have a dual IC, anyway, what ICs are you using?

I still have no much familiar with this effect nor with words like flip-flop or bleep and bloop, but if you meant this I hope my advices will be useful.
«There is something even higher than the justice which you have been filled with. There is a human impulse known as mercy, a human act known as forgiveness.»
Elijah Baley in Isaac Asimov's The Cave Of Steel

thermionix

I have zero experience with the Blue Box, but that is a cool looking build!  Somebody at MXR sure liked 56K, huh?

Mark Hammer