Popping Kill Switch. Please help

Started by Irish Luck, August 17, 2016, 12:27:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Irish Luck

Hey everyone,
I'm fairly new to building pedals. I've made about a dozen. Channel switchers for amps, a feedback looper, and an effects loop bypass. This Killswitch was one of the first that I made, but it makes a popping sound every time I hit the switch. I'm using the Beavis schematic and the right switch and have read multiple forum threads but figured it's time just to ask again based on my trials and problems.

It seems so simple. And it does work. I just can't get rid of the popping sound. I read that adding a resistor between the two lugs of the switch would fix it, but it didn't. I used a 1m resistor and soldered it from one lug to the other.

What am I doing wrong?

Should I solder the resistor from the incoming and outgoing wires from the switch? What size resistor? I saw one website say use a 10m soldered between the lugs. And I just have a 1m. I just don't want to go spend more money on this if it might not correct the problem.

This is the simplest pedal I've made but I just can't seem to nail down the problem. I'm about to give up. I don't want to use it if it pops when it goes silent. That drives me nuts!

Can anyone please give me some help here? I would really appreciate it!!

Thank you!!

LightSoundGeometry

I have come to the conclusion its the mechanical pop being amplified at times in certain circuits. I think you can use a 1meg tie down from out put to ground?

or get a momentary switch which is really smooth "soft touch" , I have one mounted on my scratch plate tied to lug 2 and lug 1 of my volume pot:

http://www.mammothelectronics.com/electonic-switches-s/21.htm?searching=Y&sort=7&cat=21&show=30&page=2

Keppy

It's inherent to the effect. You are immediately shorting the signal voltage to ground. That immediate voltage change is what you hear as a pop. The only ways to get rid of it are: