Guitar Volume Treble Bleed Tester

Started by stallik, August 17, 2016, 09:43:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

stallik

Guitar volume pots shave off a little treble when turned down. We know this. The common remedy is to run a small cap between lugs 1 & 2 of the volume pot. A resistor is usually placed in parallel with the cap though sometimes in series and everyone has a favorite set of values for both components.

Whilst playing with DeadAstro's idea of a switched volume pot in a stompbox, the instant change of sound highlighted the effect of the treble roll off so I started playing with values and noticed the following:

• Treble bypass seriously effects the way a distortion pedal cleans up when you roll off guitar volume. The choice of values can alter the effect from dirty > clean or dirty > dirty at lower volume
  • The values will also alter the clean sound when rolling off the volume and the ideal values for this may not match those for dirty sounds
  • The above effects are different on different guitars, PU's, effects chains & amps
  • Guitars with 2 volume pots can have different combinations

I've been using a favorite combination for years but had no idea how effective this could be at improving the sound of a poor guitar and ruining the sound of a good one.
Trouble is, rewiring a strat is a pain and even leaving trailing leads from under the scratchplate and breadboarding different components didn't allow me to accurately compare sounds so I put together a little test box with a few values on rotary switches. I've added switchable volume pots (250k & 500k) and also parallel/series switching for the cap & resistor. Position 1 on each rotary is bypass