Talk Box by Hacking Canada DIY

Started by St0rm, August 31, 2016, 02:45:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

St0rm

Hey All,

Visited an electronics store today looking for replacement components to my Tube Screamer clone and found a kit for a 7W speaker amplifier for pretty cheap. Figured that I've always wanted to build a talk box and all you really need is a small amp, a cone to pick up the audio, and the tubing so what the heck. The schematic it came with is simple enough, input (in this case I'm substituting a 1/4 stereo Jack), a 1/8" input for Walkman amplification, the PCB, a volume knob, power supply, and output to the speakers. Thing is, I'm not an electrician but I really want to hack it and add a few things:

-I'd like to add an output jack with foot switch to bypass the audio away from the speaker and on to the next component.
-LED indicator for the power (easy enough)

And I'm not sure how best to go about it. True Bypass with a 3PDT is dependent on the output from the PCB going direct to the Jack and I'm wanting either to bypass the board completely or split the output from the board (probably a bad idea...)

Seems like the simple solution would be to use some sort of stomp switch and run the signal from the input Jack as well as the 12V power source through it. When engaged it passes the signal and power through to the PCB. When disengaged it cuts the power and directs the signal to the output Jack. Again, not an electrician so this might work, but a part of my little physics knowledge is concerned with signal degradation and the possibility that the output would be just far too small. With that said, for safe measure I've been using 16 gauge wire in the enclosure.

I puts a link to the diagram here:

http://www.canakit.com/Media/Manuals/UK153.pdf

Any ideas or input would be greatly appreciated!!!

GibsonGM