Beginner tools

Started by poutipoupou, September 19, 2016, 08:25:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

poutipoupou

Hello everybody!

I'm new in stompbox making - I did a bit of soldering in the past, that's it.
I'm really interested in making lots of stuff with my new solder kit... but these days I'm really broke. Normally I would just wait to get some money, but I need a D.I. now.

So I'm looking for this on the internet...
And it actually sounds good! I can basically make an excellent DI for a hundred bucks.

I got my soldering tools as I said, but that's it. I was about to order my cinemag transformer, but first went to the electronics store and I realized I could buy anything, would put it all within the aluminium/mu-metal box. I've been looking in Google, and everything I could find was people saying every steps of the making... but never how to hole the ***** metal box!

I guess the answer is too easy, and that's why no one talks about it, but: how the hell do you guys make holes in your aluminium cases? Does a simple drill makes it? Is it better with battery or the direct connection? Do I have to put a hell lot of money in getting a drill press?

Is there any other solution?

Thank You!

robthequiet

Welcome a-board.

As for the battery vs. wall wart, both are equally good if executed properly, with the obvious difference being the battery consumption.

Some guys use transparent templates, paper/tape templates, etc., to mark the exact center of the hole. Then you take a metal punch and tap a pilot hole with a small hammer. I have, in a pinch, used a hardened steel nail, but you want the best instrument you can get. Get the pilot hole to be big enough so that when you set the drill bit in place, it holds it enough to keep it centered. Practice on something else first, of course. If you have a drill with variable speed, it may help to go slow at first.

By the way, are you using a breadboard to build the circuit first?

pappasmurfsharem