BIAS: is it worth testing it and why?

Started by tenser75, October 22, 2016, 01:04:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tenser75

i'm a newbie... so be patient!

given: "Transistor Biasing is the process of setting a transistors DC operating voltage or current conditions to the correct level"
I never understood what is this "correctness". how do i know when is correct?? is there a V value I need to know?
is it 4.5v? I mean, do I have to check the voltage at the first transistor is 4.5 (given 9v the half point...is that the point?)

Every pedal i built, most of them fuzzes based on given new & vintage schematics, they seem to work well...even when i replace resistor in the 10% range when i dont have the right ones... so how accurately does the transistor need to be biased? are there huge differences in the final tone?

does the bias affect the sustain?
does the bias affect the harmonics?

GibsonGM

Hi "newbie" (ha ha),

Your instincts are pretty right on.  The degree that the bias point will affect a circuit's operation varies, and is very specific to that design.   Many fuzzes ARE sensitive to where the bias is set, and with things like FETs, it can be critical to dial it in (that is why many circuits call for trim pots).  In some ckts, the bias setting DOES affect sustain and the generation of harmonics.

And then, there are others that are not sensitive, and you just go with what has been called for on the schematic. 

Bias is quite often 4.5V, or 1/2 supply voltage - but not always!  Sometimes it is set otherwise for a purpose, such as to make a transistor clip positive or negative peaks, and so on.   

If you are designing a circuit, you would set up what parameters you want the transistor, etc, to operate on over its characteristic curve...where you place the bias point determines the starting point, before you apply signal (quiescence).   
  • SUPPORTER