Transformer Distortion Project

Started by D_Ex_Patria, November 03, 2016, 01:48:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

D_Ex_Patria

I'm new to effect building, having only made a few 386-based amps and effects over the past few months, so please be patient.

While reading about power amp emulation, I got a little hung up on transformer saturation. I fished a 1:1 modem transformer out of a digital TV box someone was throwing out and banged it across the output of one of my amps, and it the sounds that came out of it were pretty much what I expected: some dB loss, and some filtering outside of the transistor's frequency range (not altogether unpleasant).

More reading turned up a similar idea in a pedal:
https://www.talkbass.com/threads/an-inexpensive-audio-transformer-with-diy-projects.1113802/page-17

I looked at their numbers (throwing 12Vp-p through their transformer, a TY-250P), and mine (10Vp-p if you run a 386 at 12V, through my Midcom 671-8001), and thought it might be possible to do a minimal version of theirs.

Here's my thinking so far:

I left out all the bits and bobs for stabilizing the 386 in this diagram, so assume all those components are in place. Since I'm losing some dBs through the transformer, I thought I'd just toss another power amp on after it, with some attenuation to keep its output unclipped. I have a breadboarded bridged LM380 that's just waiting to be hooked up for that purpose, but I thought I'd share and see what thoughts people had about the idea while I got to tinkering.

Rob Strand

You need to put a cap in series with the transformer otherwise a large DC current will flow.    (Even if you have a dual rail supply it is a good idea to use a cap when connecting to a transformer.)