DIY Pedal Board Distribution Box

Started by GusRus, November 12, 2016, 06:04:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GusRus

Hi There,

New to the forum. I'm currently in the process of overhauling my pedal board as it's getting a bit tired. I have designed a new pedal board and I am in the process of building this (think pedal train but with aluminium channel and 18mm ply supports). I'm now thinking about redoing the power distribution. My current power supply is the 3A Diago Powerstation which is a pretty hefty supply and has everything I need the only thing that annoys me about it is having to use daisy chains which may leave unused plugs or have points of failure in them. I wish to replace this by using a distribution box so that if one cable fails I can replace it alone and use custom lengths when and where I need to. The only thing is I haven't seen anyone make a DIY distribution box or seen any circuit diagrams for it. My background is in mechanical engineering and while at university there were nice enough to teach us some electronic skills in the fabrication of components but nothing to do with design and this is where I am struggling. Basically I need a box that has 1 9V in and then maybe 12 9V outs. If anyone has a circuit diagram of something like this or built something similar then your help is much appreciated.

PRR

Welcome.

> points of failure

Depending how "point of failure" is defined, I am not sure you are reducing your PoF count? Connectors are often PoFs. A 12-out daisy-chain is 13 connectors. 12 separate cables is 24 connectors.

Yes, if the 13th connector on a daisy chain fails, the whole rig goes dead.

> unused plugs