News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

PCB printing

Started by keenan1, December 01, 2016, 04:01:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

keenan1

hi ! i'm a complete newbie to making pedals and pcbs so please excuse anything stupid i'm about to say ! i'm trying to print a pcb layout I have found on the internet and I have no idea of the size or scale it should be, I've tried printing it how it is and it comes out enormous, I can make it smaller and it seems normal but i'm not sure if its the size it should be. I guess what I'm asking is does size matter? if so how can i make it the correct size? thanks !

EBK

If there is an integrated circuit in the layout, the pin centers will usually be spaced 0.1 in. apart along each row.

The short answer is, yes, size matters.

If it is a pdf file, try selecting "actual size" (without scaling) in the print dialog rather than fit to page.
  • SUPPORTER
Technical difficulties.  Please stand by.

keenan1

hi, thanks for the reply! would you be able to check out the layout please? its the one discussed in this post I'm still unsure what i am looking for ! it has some sort of scale on the side but i'm unsure what it means thanks again !

https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1044588

EBK

Quote from: keenan1 on December 01, 2016, 04:42:29 PM
hi, thanks for the reply! would you be able to check out the layout please? its the one discussed in this post I'm still unsure what i am looking for ! it has some sort of scale on the side but i'm unsure what it means thanks again !

https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1044588

When the length of those double-ended arrows on your printout matches the numbers, you've printed it out at the right size.
  • SUPPORTER

Mark Hammer