Queen of Bone 2 (King of Tone Clone) Right Side No Sound

Started by natron_mn, December 06, 2016, 01:04:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

natron_mn

I could use some help troubleshooting. I've built a Rullywow Queen of Bone 2 (King of Tone clone), and I am not getting any sound out of the right side (input side, pictured top here). The LED turns on, but the sound is completely muted. The left overdrive side works just fine and just as it should.

I don't know where to begin trying to solve the problem. I looked for solder bridges, but did not find any. I felt like this was a pretty clean build and was confident it would fully fire up, but no such luck.

I'm still new at DIY pedals, so about 1 out of every 2 pedals I build operates correctly right away. And with this particular pedal, I've built about 6 of them. I've actually had the same issue with a prior build, where the right side was completely silent. I was impatient with that one though and scrapped it for parts. I'm sure it's not a malfunction of the pcb - Rullywow's seem to be pretty solid. I'm sure it's an error I'm making, but I can't tell what it is.

So please help point me in the direction of what to test next. With no sound, do I want to test voltages, or continuity first? Or neither?

thermionix

Sorry I can't be of much help, I'm not familiar with the circuit.  I'm sure someone will ask if you have audio probed it.

But do I see 1S1588s in there?  If so, were those specified for this circuit?

natron_mn

No problem, thanks for lookin'!

Yeah, those are 1S1588s and MA858s (couldn't find MA856s but I believe they are nearly identical?), both specific to the original King of Tone. And this pcb is a near-exact copy of that circuit, to my knowledge.

Here is the link, and it might provide more insight for troubleshooting.

http://www.rullywow.com/product/queenofbone2/

jimilee