Designing Own Layouts - Please Judge My Work

Started by karis12, December 17, 2016, 07:45:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

karis12

I've been doing DIY pedals for close to 5 years now, but up until now had worked only on relatively simple builds. Due to limited knowledge regarding the whole engineering aspect of this hobby in the first place, I've mostly worked with perforated board with individually isolated copper holes.

As my concern is often to make the circuits as compact as possible, I often end up with layouts looking like this:

Silicon Fuzz Face (with BC548 transistors)

Paul Cochrane Timmy

So far, the only issue I've come across with is my first layout of the RunOffGroove Thor, which had a feedback problem that seems to be affected by the bright switch and gain knob. I am suspecting it may either be due to the positions of the FETs, or the fact that I didn't check the Vgs or Idss of each FET before building. Here's what it looked like:

I redid my layout, and also measured the FETs I used the next time around, even tweaking the values of the source resistors on some positions, and came up with this, and this time, it worked pretty well:

What do you guys think?

GibsonGM

I see nothing at all wrong with your layouts, Karis.  Those are much neater than the circuits I throw together! 
  • SUPPORTER
MXR Dist +, TS9/808, Easyvibe, Big Muff Pi, Blues Breaker, Guv'nor.  MOSFace, MOS Boost,  BJT boosts - LPB-2, buffers, Phuncgnosis, FF, Orange Sunshine & others, Bazz Fuss, Tonemender, Little Gem, Orange Squeezer, Ruby Tuby, filters, octaves, trems...

karis12

Quote from: GibsonGM on December 17, 2016, 09:47:25 AM
I see nothing at all wrong with your layouts, Karis.  Those are much neater than the circuits I throw together!