Rangemaster not working

Started by HeavyFog, January 22, 2017, 12:47:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

HeavyFog

Just got around to wiring up 2 rangemasters according to this layout

No surprise, it doesn't work. I get a loud drone at all times and the pot does seem to quiet it down but i get no guitar signal coming through at all times. Tried this exact same circuit as well with a separate circuit instead made with a small bear sino rangemaster transistor and it still didn't work and i had the same problem.
I used a small bear 0c44 in my first one and a small bear sino in the second and i double and triple checked before i soldered them that they were in the right way around and the emitter and collector were where they should be. Also this is my first time making a PNP pedal.
Right now i have 2 theories as to why this isn't working:

1: Im powering it from the same regular one spot i use to power my regular effects (not daisy chaining for the test) and this is somehow causing the problem. I tried reversing the 9v and the ground and i just got a ticking like noise. I tried as well with a 9v battery and it still didn't work. Iv'e got the positive and negative wires going straight to the power jack (plastic not metal) and neither is connected to the ground of the jacks. When i tried connecting wither to ground all noise stopped. even weirder when i disconnect the power i can play clean as i normally would but the pot does nothing. Not sure if thats supposed to happen but its odd to me.

2: There could be something up with the layout that i'm not getting and i'm suspicious of this because along with this layout the guy who did this layout included a picture of a drawn schematic that doesn't entirely match up with the layout, plus he calls it a "negative ground" rangemaster despite him saying to use a oc44 or an ac128.

I'm horrible with figuring out stipboard layouts and i can't seem to solve the problem so any help is appreciated.

HeavyFog