Has anyone successfully tried the Coda Effects relay switching?

Started by Nocaster Cat, January 22, 2017, 08:33:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nocaster Cat

DISCLAIMER - PROGRAMMING IS NOT MY STRONGEST SKILL

Link to the article - http://www.coda-effects.com/2016/08/relay-bypass-with-anti-pop-system.html

Benoit's article uses the C programming language to program the PIC and even though he step by steps it, I've run in to issues. The first time I tried to program the PIC the circuit and LED would turn on but not off, so I erased the PIC and started over. Now nothing happens and the only way I can get the relay to switch states is by connecting pins one and two of the 12F675.

Here is the layout I used - http://effectslayouts.blogspot.com/2016_11_01_archive.html

I have tried...

1) Copying and pasting the code into MPLab.

2) Typing the code line by line into MPLab.

3) Erasing and re-coding the 12F675 several times.

I'm not a coder but I'm guessing that brackets ("{}") are used to start and stop commands and it seems that in this part of the code the bracket in red is throwing things off.

if (state == 1) { // effect on
            GP0 = 1; // LED on
            GP5 = 1; // relay on
            GP4 = 0; }
        else { // effect off
            GP0 = 0; // LED off
            GP5 = 0; // relay off
            GP4 = 0;
        }
      }
   __delay_ms(10);
}

In MPLab if you click on any bracket, it will highlight the start and stop of that command and the bracket in bold red does not correspond to any command start. In fact if it's left in the code, it causes an error and you can't compile the code but if you remove the extra bracket so the code will compile but the PIC doesn't work. Any ideas?

Also, are photoFET's overly sensitive to heat? Could I have fried the photoFET while soldering it in and should I be socketing them?

Thanks in advance.

slacker