First time building a pedal (LPB-1 clone), and having some issues with it

Started by Yoliste, February 05, 2017, 05:52:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Yoliste

Hi everybody.

This is my first build and I'm having some issues with it. It's an LPB-1 clone. You can find a schematic here : https://hotbottles.files.wordpress.com/2012/02/lpb-schematic.png

Basically the bypass function is working fine (sound is ok when the pedal is off). When I turn it on, the LED lights up as expected, but instead of a clean boost I get a very quiet, weirdly distorted sound. By quiet I mean that even with the pot on the maximum setting the gain is way below unity.

Since I used a stripboard I hand drawn a complete schematic (with input, output and DC jacks, footswitch and LED). I uploaded this schematic here : http://imgur.com/a/I2eHO

Now here are some information that hopefully will help :

• I replaced both caps with 120nF since I did not have 100nF on hand.
  • I initially wired the transistor in the wrong way, but unsoldering it and wiring it in the other way did not seem to change much.
  • I added a wire between the back of the pot and ground (lug number 1).
  • After some checks, I realized that the Connect pin of the DC jack seemed to short to ground, but not the Sleeve one, so I used the sleeve only.

Also here are some values that I measured when checking connections. Those measurement were done with the DC plugged in, and with the pedal switched on :

• DC sleeve to ground : 9.4V
  • Collector pin of the transistor to ground : .43V
  • Base pin to ground : .97V
  • Emitter to ground : .34V
  • Circuit input to ground : 15mV
  • lug 2 or 3 of the pot, and both jack tips to ground : 0V.

Here are also some pictures of the build, although they are not of very good quality since I only had my phone to take them : http://imgur.com/a/YvAf1

So, does anyone have an idea of what can be wrong with it ?

thermionix

GibsonGM