DI idea looking for critiques. TI DRV134 Content.

Started by Bill Mountain, February 17, 2017, 05:10:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bill Mountain

I didn't want to further derail another thread so I started this one.

I'm trying to learn about building active DI circuits with balanced driver IC's.

The attached circuit is mostly for discussion purposes but I will be building something similar here in the near future.

What I'm wondering is if the DI section will work as designed.  I followed the DRV134 and THAT 1646 datasheets but wasn't sure about a few things.

I'm still learning Eagle too but I would build it on vero to confirm it worked before doing PCB's any way.

Am I missing anything major on the balanced output?  Is a ground lift necessary with these balanced driver chips?  The datasheets talk so much about noise cancellation but do not specifically mention ground loops so I wasn't sure.

The DRV134 says it adds 6dB of signal so maybe I should pad the mosfet down somewhat.

Thanks for looking!

LiLFX

The DRV134 calls for larger power supply bypass caps than your schem has, but that shouldn't be a show stopper. The biggest mistake I've seen in DIY boards that have differential audio pairs is those pairs not being routed together. The main premise of differential pairs is that the differential amplifier will cancel out the noise that is common on both sides. If the pair isn't routed tightly you can have noise show up on only one side which makes it's way through the amplifier. So when you build this on a PCB route the output traces tight to each other. When you build on vero twist your wires together.