Avoiding unwanted distortion in a Sallen-Key filter

Started by HeavyFog, October 19, 2019, 11:59:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

HeavyFog

Hey everyone, so recently I've been toying with the idea of an onboard active low pass filter/preamp for bass in the style of alembic. After looking into it and tracing some circuit boards I found that alembic stuff uses an onboard sallen-key filter with a range of roughly 300hz to 6k. Im pretty new to OP amps in general so I'm sure I've made a few mistakes here and there, but after messing around with the circuit here's what I came up with:

It's not an exact clone of the alembic filter, as I had to fill in some of the cap and resistor values I didn't know, but right now its sounding great and I'm real happy with the filter performance. The non inverting gain stage before it it meant to give a little extra volume and output and it works but is causing the filter to clip. I have the same issue when I set the gain stage up as a unity gain buffer too, just not quite as bad.

Like I said, I'm fairly new to op amps so I'm sure I've made some kind of mistake here but I cant seem to get the filter clean. I'm testing the circuit with a jazz bass and a ric 4003 and its giving me problems especially when the gain is turned up. I've tried adding coupling caps after the first stage, which just ended up killing sound altogether.

Also I am aware that alembic pickups are low impedance and have a generally low output. I'm keeping that in mind, I just want to make this work with conventional high impedance pickups too. This makes me thing an impedance mismatch could be at ply here but I'm not sure.

Usually I would add series resistance to the filter but I dont want to drop the max cutoff frequency by adding more series resistance. Maybe adding some directly to the non inverting input would work? Also I should mention this will be going in my bass to replace the tone control so I want to keep part count a minimum

Scruffie