A Complete Noob's Attempt at a Fetzer-ized Boogie Preamp

Started by karis12, March 16, 2017, 09:07:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

karis12

I need you guys to tell me how badly I'm doing at this DIY thing.

First off, here it is:

The back story:

I'm really, really desperate to either buy or create a pedal/circuit design that's aimed at recreating the Boogie Mark series distortion sound, which is a combination of many cascaded gain stages (as many as 6), the traditional F-style TMB tone stack acting as a guitar "shape" control (in other words, what frequencies from the guitar end up getting boosted to hell by the succeeding gain stages), and finally the 5-band graphic EQ that does the actual EQ-ing.

I've learned enough commands on LTSpice to come up with virtual emulations of the Mark V, based on schematics floating around the interwebz, and while I know that Mesa intentionally includes errors in them to prevent counterfeiting, I did come across something that's supposedly verified. I put it together in Spice, and entered values corresponding to my favourite guitarist's settings based on a product demo video (hint: his initials are J.P.), and ran some virtual tests on it. I found out he sets the TMB in such a way that it acts as a treble booster going into the succeeding gain stages, which contributes to the characteristic sound of said guitarist.

I was curious enough that I also pulled up a schematic of my personal amp (a British design with the TMB stack near the end) and simulated it in LTSpice with settings designed to get it as close as possible to the virtual Mark preamp. I also added a treble booster simulation in front of it to mimic the EQ curve of the Mark's TMB "shape" controls at the aforementioned settings. It lined up pretty close, which encouraged me to build a physical op amp treble boost based on the simulation. This treble-boost-into-driven-amp method was the closest I got to the sound so far.