Explaining PCBs to a complete beginner

Started by HumphreyJeffers, March 30, 2017, 12:36:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

HumphreyJeffers

Hey guys. I'm completely new to this hobby, but extremely excited to start building amazing pedals in the future. I've already gathered all the supplies needed to build the beginner project and have done a lot of research, but I can't seem to find a lot of information about pcbs, which I know I will need in the future. I have a rough understanding of what they are, but do they have to be purchased or are they usually created? And if so, how do I print a printed circuit board?H

td;lr- How do you guys get/make your PCBs for projects

antonis

Hi & Wellcome..

If you don't start with designing & etching PCBs, then you need nothing to understand about them.. :icon_wink:

Better start with relative simple Perf/Strip boards...
"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

Kevin Mitchell

The internet is loaded with tutorials and breakdowns. For these kinds of things I'd say that most knowledge comes with experience.

If you want to bust into the tinkering world I say pick up some breadboards and start plugging away some easy circuits. Just enough wrap your head around the idea of how a circuit works.

Quickly you'll learn what not to do before finding what works best for you.

-A PCB (printed circuit board) You're pretty much taking out chunks of copper leaving fine traces(call them wires if you will) for the electrical connection. If you are missing every definition/explanation on google maybe you should walk around the block and clear your head.

Research before asking for things on a platter. Good luck!  ;D
  • SUPPORTER
This hobby will be the deaf of me

Passaloutre