Help Debugging Fuzz Factory Clone

Started by platypy, April 02, 2017, 08:21:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

platypy

I'm a newbie at pedal building and have built a fuzz factory pedal, but it is exhibiting some problems. Sound comes through fine when bypassed, but when it is turned on it does not distort the sound at all, until the "drive" knob is turned up almost all the way. The volume knob is scratchy but works. All of the other knobs don't work at all, or only work a very small amount. For clarification, when turned on, clean sound DOES come through the pedal, but it is not distorted like it should be.
I used this layout from tagboardeffects: http://tagboardeffects.blogspot.com/2012/01/zvex-fuzz-factory-vero.html

I've triple checked the placement of the transistors and even tried turning them around (they're socketed) just incase the layout was wrong. Nothing's worked. What else should I be trying?

Here are the voltage measurements from each transistor. As I said, I'm fairly new to this, so if I'm missing any info, please let me know.  :)

Q1 = 2N3904
E = 0.00
B = 0.67
C = 5.72

Q2 = AC128
E = 8.23
B = 8.04
C = 1.37

Q3 = AC128
E = 7.97
B = 7.89
C = 1.87

Thanks,
Platypy

antonis

Hi and Wellcome...  :icon_biggrin:

Clearly, your measurements are incorrect..

You can't have 7.97V on Q3 Emitter and 8.04 on Q2 Base..
Same for Q2 Collector and Q3 Base voltages (they should be identical..)

Also, your Q2 & Q3 VEB voltage drops aren't enough for working on active region..
(I'm not familiar enough with Ge transistors but I think an Emitter to Base voltage difference of 80 to 190 mV is low..)
"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

duck_arse

also welcome, also can you tell us your supply voltage at the board? also also, can you post some photos of what you have built, please.