Loud popping when engaging 3PDT switch on new over drive

Started by aBunchOfPedals, April 11, 2017, 10:49:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

aBunchOfPedals

Hi,

I built a Timmy over drive clone.  IT sounds great but there's a loud(ish) popping sound when I engage the pedal.  It's not sever but definitely noticeable.  Any ideas?

pianoman_282

Hi,
I'm still new at pedal building and recently build a TS808 from Mammoth.  I had this issue and realized I had my electrolytic capacitors in backwards.  Once I desoldered them, turned them around, and re-soldered, it worked beautiful.  There was no more popping. I did chew up the board a little though trying to desolder them. I haven't adapted a good way of doing that yet, so if anyone has tips I'm all ears.  I have the 3rd hand tool but don't find it very useful when trying to desolder.  I need another hand to pull the parts out of the board.

stallik

Do a search for solder sucker. Invaluable tool, cheap and very effective. Some use a desoldering wick but my preference is the sucker.
Regarding the popping, it's quite a common question here and is usually caused by a sudden change in voltage when engaging the pedal. Do a forum search for pull down resistor.
Sorry for the breif reply, I'm late as usual.....
Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Albert Einstein

antonis

Most of Timmy clones include a pull-down resistor (usually 1M - 2M2).

If your clone includes it, you have to add a 330R resistor and a 10μF capacitor (negative leg to GND) between anode of 3PDT switch LED and its current limiting resistor..
(provided you have an LED and pop is caused from there..)
"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

EBK