How to make a specific sounding distortion?

Started by platypy, April 19, 2017, 04:47:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

platypy

I'm new to making pedals, and my friend wants a pedal for use in hardcore punk band. Something along the lines of the guitar in this song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H37-6a5qkKk. I thought I could achieve this by setting the gain of an opamp really high and then putting it through some clipping diodes that would activate at low voltages. While I have found some cool distortion sounds through this method, I haven't found the one I'm looking for. I also tried putting a transistor before the op amp to amplify the signal even more, but I didn't like the background noise it produced.
Do you guys have any suggestions on what I could try, or any names of pedals that sound similar that I could research? Anything would be greatly appreciated!  ;D

J0K3RX

Try some broken glass in a blender or garbage disposal and if that ain't enough then try running your finger nails down a chalkboard at the same time... should get you in the ballpark :o

You could also tie 2 cats tails together and sling them over a clothes line... wouldn't hurt my feelins not one bit!  :icon_twisted:
Doesn't matter what you did to get it... If it sounds good, then it is good!

EBK

I'm sorry I don't have a serious answer for you.

Maybe I'm just getting old, but that clip sounded like a lot of noise with no distinguishable traditional musical notes. 
  • SUPPORTER
Technical difficulties.  Please stand by.

diy-tubes

I think something like screaming meanie and others from http://moosapotamus.net/ will do the job. No?
http://diy-tubes.com - parts for guitar/studio gear

ElectricDruid

It sounds to me like the bit you're missing is tone control.