Problems with Ruby LM386 amp on breadboard

Started by Hydrilla, April 19, 2017, 08:32:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hydrilla

Hi all,

I am trying to put together an LM386 amp using the Ruby layout, and despite more than half a dozen tries, it isn't working.  I am not very good at reading schematics yet (trying to learn) so I have been using layout images that people have posted, this being the most recent one- https://noisylittlebugger.net/diy/guitar_pedals/BeavisBoard_Projects/bbp_Ruby_Rev_1_1.pdf

It seems that I have it set up correctly according to the image at least, but I am getting no sound from the input jack, and when I turn the 10k pot up, it makes a loud beep of varying pitch, going up in frequency as I turn it up. 

I am using an LM386N-1 and have tried 2 different ones, and I am using an MPF102.  For power I have tried both a 9v battery and 4 AA batteries.  I have tried it both with a pot and a resistor between pins 1 and 8, with the same result.  Suggestions would be appreciated, I am obviously doing something wrong. 

pinkjimiphoton

i bet its the jfet. if it's socketed, pull it out and see if ya get signal to pass if ya jumper it.. or go to pin 2 or 3 with a small metal probe.
if the 386 is working, you'll hear it come thru the speaker.
i've had this issue in the past, and it's usually the jfet. i got so sick of dealing with 'em i made my own circuit with regular npn transistors.

can ya post the voltages of the fet and the 386? put your black meter lead to ground, and set your scale to dc 20 volt range. check the voltage at all three pins of the fet and all 8 of the chip. also post battery voltage, and voltage once it gets to the board.

if the voltages look right that you post, we'll be able to help ya figure it out. but i bet it;s the damn jfet.they don't like heat, they don't like static and are easy to kill.
  • SUPPORTER
"When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will know peace."
Slava Ukraini!