Replacing a footswitch with 3 pins with a toggle switch?

Started by tdarkas, May 24, 2017, 07:33:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tdarkas

I want to replace the footswitch on a vintage MXR Phase 100 Block Logo pedal with a toggle switch. I am a complete newbie when it comes to guitar pedals but I have wired switches and rotary switches before, the only problem is the only information I can find online is with footswitches that have 9 pins, this one only has 3... Anyone know how to do it?

blackieNYC

chances are the middle pin choses This, or That. just like your toggle.  If you were to make the new wiring look like the old wiring, in terms of layout, you'd probably be there.  But - do you have any sort of ohmmeter?  regardless, dive in.  you can post photos if you wish, or take photos just for yourself, to leave a trail of breadcrumbs.
  • SUPPORTER
http://29hourmusicpeople.bandcamp.com/
Tapflo filter, Gator, Magnus Modulus +,Meathead, 4049er,Great Destroyer,Scrambler+, para EQ, Azabache, two-loop mix/blend, Slow Gear, Phase Royal, Escobedo PWM, Uglyface, Jawari,Corruptor,Tri-Vibe,Battery Warmers

thermionix

A three lug (pin) switch is single-pole, double-throw (SPDT), so that's the type of toggle you would want to get.  There is some variation on which lug is which, so you would need to determine that when moving the connections over.  One way to do that is with a continuity tester or ohmmeter, or you can work it out from the schematic.  Usually a SPDT is set up where the middle lug is common, and switches between the two outside lugs.  But not always.  Some old wah pedals, for example, have a footswitch with two lugs on ones side, one on the other, no middle.

Edit:  I should add that you want an ON-ON (2 position) toggle switch, not an ON-OFF-ON or ON-ON-ON (3 position) toggle.

tdarkas