Project based on guvnor

Started by sominka, June 01, 2017, 03:25:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sominka

Hi
I'm still learning but would this possibly work. I haven't breadboarded it yet.

GibsonGM

With a quick glance, it does look like it will work  :)  But, you need to change the point marked "VR" on the output boost transistor to 9V.

Take R8 to 4.5V instead of ground....you may need a resistor between VR and 2nd opamp stage's "+" input, too....10k maybe...but it is probably ok either way.
  • SUPPORTER
MXR Dist +, TS9/808, Easyvibe, Big Muff Pi, Blues Breaker, Guv'nor.  MOSFace, MOS Boost,  BJT boosts - LPB-2, buffers, Phuncgnosis, FF, Orange Sunshine & others, Bazz Fuss, Tonemender, Little Gem, Orange Squeezer, Ruby Tuby, filters, octaves, trems...

ElectricDruid

What's the point of C5?

Looks to me like it's unnecessary, since the 220n already acts as a DC blocker. Or is it there as tone shaping? (in which case, how?)

Thanks,
Tom

nocentelli

Quote from: ElectricDruid on June 01, 2017, 06:15:55 PM
What's the point of C5?

Looks to me like it's unnecessary, since the 220n already acts as a DC blocker...

It's a remnant of the original bypass schematic where the output of the first opamp is muted by being grounded after the 10k but the input remains connected to the guitar during bypass.
Quote from: kayceesqueeze on the back and never open it up again

antonis

On the original pedal, one pole of bypass switch was right after R4 (10k) grounding the output of IC1_A..

edit: leo is faster..!!  :icon_wink:

<Take R8 to 4.5V instead of ground>
Can't follow you, Sir..!!  :icon_redface:

"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

GibsonGM

Quote from: antonis on June 02, 2017, 03:54:14 AM

<Take R8 to 4.5V instead of ground>
Can't follow you, Sir..!!  :icon_redface: