Tube Screamer Schematic confusion / help ....

Started by griff10672, June 04, 2017, 10:40:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

griff10672

going to try to breadboard the above schematic .... I'm little confused on a couple of things ...

The IC pinout  says 6 , 2 , 3 on both of the symbols ..... now I'm a total noob with schematics ... but have breadboarded a few things already ... but the IC always showed 1 ,2 , 3 , 4 , 5 ,6 , 7 ,8

2nd confusing issue are the resistors RA , RB , RC ( at least RC says 10k )    on the BOM for this build they are listed as RA 0Ω      , RB 100    ,   RC 10K

wondering why they are titled that way ...  at least the RC has a value I understand .... RA and Rb though ???

and the distortion pot ..... leg three goes to nothing ???

bluebunny

That's a poorly-drawn schematic, so far as the op amps go - there are lots of better examples.  There is only one dual op amp (a 4558), so "U1" and "U2" is confusing.  And the pin numbers are completely wrong!  The first op amp has pin three as the non-inverting (+) input, pin two as the inverting (-) input and pin 1 as the output.  The corresponding pins on the second op amp are 5, 6 and 7.  It doesn't matter which op amp in the IC you choose to be "first".  Power (9V) is pin 8 and pin 4 is 0V or GND.  That's your expected complement of eight pins.

You'll often see RA, RB and RC shown in Tube Screamer schematics because the difference between a TS-808 and TS-9 is basically the value of these resistors.  See the "Technology of the Tube Screamer" article at GeoFEX for more information on this.

Finally, the gain pot is just a variable resistor.  It might be safer to tie the unused end to the wiper, just in case the wiper ever goes open-cuircuit.
  • SUPPORTER
Ohm's Law - much like Coles Law, but with less cabbage...

PRR