FX-loop with "latch/stack"-switch

Started by soneduent, June 29, 2017, 08:16:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

soneduent

(EDIT: Kinda realized a lot of mistakes here just a few hours after posting, sorry about that. Still trying to figure out how I want to work with an FX-loop and if I am even gonna go further than just a "regular" 4CH loop so thoughts, experiences and ideas are super welcome! Sorry for the worst first post ever  :icon_redface: )

Hi! I'm kinda new to this, which you will probably be able to tell from the misstakes you are about to witness. I've built two veroboard-pedals and a tremolo kit thingy, I've also repaired and modded a bunch of stuff i use (mostly guitars but also some pedals).

I have found myself in need of an FX-loop and thought it would be a fun project to do from scratch. I don't want a programmable pedal since i really like the feeling of stomping and not going through lists of presets and stuff like that. I saw the BYOC programmable looper but it didn't really appeal to me (feel free to talk me down (I'm still considering it) but I bet some of you know the feeling of not wanting to program).

The thing is I had this idea of a loop-pedal having a mini-toggle for each channel (in my case that is 4 channels) which lets you decide if you want that channel to stack with the ones before it (f.ex. CH1(drive) stacked before CH2(fuzz) for a more "leady" tone) or if you want it to be "selected" (in "latch-mode") (f.ex. CH1&2 (drive and mod) are activated (stacked) and CH3 (heavy fuzz for the chordy chorus) is pressed to "bypass" CH1&2 and activate only CH3)

Some days passed and I wandered about with ideas flowing through my head for wiring this together when i finally sat down today, downloaded DIYLC and started designing my FX-loop pedal.