Same Pedal, Slight Differences

Started by dafortier, July 19, 2017, 06:37:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dafortier

I've been building pedals for a couple of years now but I've rarely ever built more than one of one kind of pedal.  I just built 5 aeon refractor pedals over the course of a couple of weeks.  I decided to A/B two of them next to the one I built for myself and I noticed a difference.  Mine is a bit brighter and a little more "open" sounding.  The other two are a little darker, and one seems to have ever so slightly less overdrive at the same knob position.

The differences are very subtle but noticeable to me.  I've compared IC voltages to mine and they're nearly identical.  The parts are the same in all of them.  Metal film resistors with 5% tolerance.  Caps have a 20% tolerance.

I've never built this many of the same pedal before so my question is, is this slight variation in tone to be expected? 

Fender3D

+-20% capacitance tolerance is +-20% away from desired (or expected) filters' crossover freq.
I'm too lazy to calculate the worst scenario, adding your 5% resistors' tolerance... but....
"NOT FLAMMABLE" is not a challenge

antonis

Quote from: dafortier on July 19, 2017, 06:37:45 AM
The parts are the same in all of them.  Metal film resistors with 5% tolerance.  Caps have a 20% tolerance.
Tolerance refers to + - , for a 100nF cap it can be 80nF to 120nF...
Same for resistors, of course so, calculate any kind first order passive filter of 100nF/10k with worst case values combination of 80nF/95k vs 120nF/105k...  :icon_wink:

edit_1: Slower than Federico with same degree of laziness.. :icon_redface:

edit_2: Wellcome...!!! :icon_biggrin:
"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

EBK