First distortion

Started by KimJongFun, July 29, 2017, 04:01:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

KimJongFun

Hello everyone,

I'm new to pedal building (and also new on this forum) and instead of modding an existing pedal I wanted to design my own, so I ended up making a two gain stages preamp (IMO pedals work a little bit like preamps and I will probably use this pedal as a preamp anyway) using op amps, I breadborded it and it sounded alright.

The breadborded version was only using 9V (I don't have the LT1054), powered by a battery, had no input and output buffers (are they even needed? I was using a 1MegOhm resistor instead of 10k just like the Tube Reamer from RunOffGroove), and I only used TL072 (only what I had available), and the active EQ wasn't included (because of lack of space... and also lazyness/massive headache)
I simulated both parts of the schematic using LTspice and everything seems to work fine, the only thing LTspice doesn't give me is the orientation of the electrolytic caps.

The schematic:
The first stage is obviously a slightly modded OD808 without gain and tone controls, the gain is fixed and the tone was simply removed, with a 0.033uf cap instead of the stock 0.047uf, the reason: less basses = tighter sound, but I also wanted to be able to choose to have a thicker tone when I wanted, so I decided to have a 3 way switch to choose between 0.082 0.056 and 0.033uf, which can provide thicker tones without turning the pedal into a fuzz (but maybe I will put a 5 way rotary switch because I kinda love fuzzy tones sometimes)
The second gain stage is a simple distortion with asymetric clipping.

The EQ stage is made of two parts, a "simple" active EQ with +/-12db of gain (8db would have been more than enough), with a mid scoop (maybe there are other and better ways of doing it BUT I couldn't find any website which explained how I could have a 450hz 0.7Q -5.5db scoop... I took inspiration of the pre&postEQ stages of the boss MT2)