It's Been Awhile

Started by fuzzyhead, July 30, 2017, 03:28:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fuzzyhead

I've built and modded a handful of pedals before but I've haven't built or modded pedals in over a year now and I'm looking to get back into it. I'm thinking about building and overdrive, maybe a clone of some sort. I wouldn't say I'm an expert at pedal building or creating circuits (all my builds have been from following layouts. I'm not very good at reading schematics yet) but I know enough to consider myself a DIY'er. My mind has been wandering a little... So this might be a dumb question but here it goes... General question first: Is it possible to just add things to pedals like switches or extra pots for more creativity and control? Or does it all depend on the circuit? More Specific question: Like I said earlier, I'm wanting to build an overdrive (I think) but this goes for all types of pedals I guess... Can I add a two or three band EQ to a pedal easily or does depend on what the curcuit allows? Or for an overdrive, adding a 3-way switch for diodes?

For my modding side: Can I replace pots for different values to allow for more or less of ie. Tone? I'm aware or swapping resistors and caps for different values but I'm unfamiliar with swapping pots and how they can affect your pedal.

This may be the dumbest thing you've read all day (I'm apologizing in advance) but I'm just looking for some clarification.

Thanks

nocentelli

Quote from: fuzzyhead on July 30, 2017, 03:28:24 PM
Is it possible to just add things to pedals like switches or extra pots for more creativity and control? Or does it all depend on the circuit?